BES 2012 Fellows

US Fellows

Mr. Michael (Mick) Bullock

Communication Director, Office of Mississippi Governor Phil Bryant

Mr. Douglas Curella, Jr.

Chief of Staff, Counsel, and Director of Communications, New York State Senator Mark Grisante

Mr. Randy Dowell

Chief of Staff, Oklahoma Senate

Mr. Stephen George

Office of Ohio Governor

Mr. Andy Merritt

Congressional Staff Member, State of Colorado

Mr. Jeff Sutich

Global Business Development Specialist, Nevada Governor's Office

Mr. Alex Tsarkov

Clerk, Judiciary Committee, Connecticut General Assembly

Mr. Christopher Rector

State Senator, Maine

Canadian Fellows

Mr. Rob Gillezeau

Economist & Trade Specialist, Office of the Leader of the Opposition (NDP)

Mr. Kieran McKenzie

Legislative Assistant, Office of NDP MP Brian Masse

Mr. David MacKenzie

Senior Policy Advisor to the Premier of Nova Scotia

University at Buffalo Graduate Students

Ms. Haley Carpenter

MA student in Political Science


Mr. Michael Schraft

Doctoral candidate in Political Science



2011 BES Fellows


Jeffrey Shaw
House Majority Office
Connecticut General Assembly

Phil Giltner
Special Assistant to the Commissioner
NYS Department of Agriculture & Markets

Alan Conroy
Kansas Legislative Research Department

Phil Price
Senior Legislative Analyst
Bureau of Legislative Research

Sheron Violini
Deputy Secretary
California State Senate

Walter E. Koch, PhD
Rep. Brian Higgins, NY-27

Susan Merrell
North Country Regional Director
U.S. Senator Gillibrand, NY



Jerry Richmond
Legislative Research Services
Government of Ontario

Daniel Malik
Senior Policy Advisor, Ministry of Finance
Government of Ontario

Michael Ramnanan
Parliamentary Assistant
Parliamentary Secretary for Citizenship & Immigration
Canadian House of Commons



Michael Frank, MA
Canadian Studies Graduate Certificate

Vishal Greenaway, MA
Canadian Studies Graduate Certificate